Sneaky Thief Reveal

No! Bad Gametrailers!

I’m not sure how I feel about the circumstances surrounding the new profession reveal for Guild Wars 2. I’m incredibly excited by the new profession, sure, but annoyed at the manner of the information drop. There’s slight irony in that it happens to be a class that relies on stealth and backstabbing, too. I’m talking, of course, about the Gametrailers release of GDC 2011 demo footage of the Thief profession of Guild Wars 2. I’m not really surprised the megasite took no time in breaking the convention embargo, and I’m disappointed that they show ArenaNet such little respect, but there you have it. This just adds to the ill-feeling I have for these huge, corporate gaming websites. It also seems that others aren’t too happy about this info leak, either.

As for the profession itself, I’m excited to see the return of the shadow stepping abilities of the Assassin, and the “Initiative” resource  is reminiscent of the combination chaining abilities of said profession. It’s pleasing to see that stealth isn’t unlimited, as I’ve always seen that type of tactic as gimmicky and out-of-place in non-sci-fi environments.

The class seems pretty frail, though, and appears to take a large amount of damage even from lowly enemies, such as moas and eagles (I shouldn’t really judge this on one sample of demo footage, however). I’m enjoying the possibilities surrounding the thievery ability, and what you can steal from particular enemies. I’m equally amused and terrified by the prospect of the Gakis’ return in Guild Wars 2, as I’m sure there’s only one item that could be stolen from them. Namely, the underwear. “Baaa-!”

 

Honestly, this works better than Blurred Vision.

Dual wielded daggers, among other weapons, are set to make a return with the Thief, which makes this the first profession I’d consider for my Norn character since the Warrior and its gun wielding option – I can’t say no to dual pistols. In addition to that, even though I’m happy with the Norn week information, and the demo footage of GDC, I’m still waiting for the appearance of some friendly buccaneer NPCs in Guild Wars 2. Come on ArenaNet, don’t disappoint!

Right, now I’m off to check out the new Embark Beach update, and then to storm FoW with [MVOP]!

– Cornish

About Cornish

Cornish is the owner of the "I Move Like a Dwarf!" blog. Here you will discover the musings and ravings of a long-time Guild Wars follower. *sponsored by Blogg the Flaming Asura; Bodmin the Dwarf; Norn pirate Captain Swash Blackbuckle and his wench, Rüth. View all posts by Cornish

2 responses to “Sneaky Thief Reveal

  • Will (verydistilled)

    I had predicted an “assassin” character, and its slightly tempting. I like the switch from assassin to thief aswell, the ninja-type feel of the former brought in far too many Naruto wannabes.

    I’m not 100% sure I’ll be convinced away from my ranger, I’ll hold my judgement until all the classes are revealed (mesmer next and then ? engineer? gunner?).

    The manner of the reveal was a bit suspect and shows a distinct lack of respect. However, they are journalists afterall and we shouldn’t expect that just because they work in the games industry, that they are any different to any bloodthirsty unscrupulous journalist out there.

    • CornishRocker

      Agreed. I’ll probably give this profession a go, and compare it with a few of the others before I make a firm decision on which I’d like to make my alt.
      Yeah, it shouldn’t really surprise me that Gametrailers exposed this so quickly, but it’s still unnerving how easily these types of sites can put pressure on developers.
      There’s little consequence, either, which makes it all the more bitter.

Leave a Reply

